For a long time, I’ve never really considered how useful a mechanical keyboard would be. I’ve always considered mechanical keyboards as something that only PC gamers would get obsessed over.

Now? I don’t think I can ever undo getting used to typing on them. Sure, they can be bulky and loud, but a properly-maintained mechanical keyboard is a pleasure to type on. There’s something satisfying about feeling each individual key sinking and springing back up. The experience simply feels smooth. With each keystroke, you get the sense that you are getting things done.

I’d know. I started writing this with the keyboard cover that came with my Chromebook Duet, and finished with my mechanical keyboard. The difference is clear as night and day.

Of course, it all depends on the quality of the keyboard. As with anything else, it’s best to spend an extra bit of money on the quality of its components. My current mechanical keyboard has a rather dodgy BlueTooth connection, resulting in the occasional lag in input. The keyboard will also sometimes fail to connect with my Chromebook, forcing me to reset the connection. It’s more annoying than game-breaking, but annoying nonetheless.

Yet, as much as I regret skimping by getting a cheap keyboard, I don’t regret buying one in the first place. I’m not a gamer, but as I’ve said, you can’t help feeling satisfied at hearing yourself accomplish something.

(EDIT AS OF 22 AUGUST 2022)

The left alternate button key actually appears to work properly when paired via bluetooth to my iPad. In this case, it works as the Apple Key. The lag issues that were causing some problems on my Chromebook appear to have disappeared.

(EDIT AS OF 26 DECEMBER 2022)

For a few months, the Windows key on the left side of the keyboard had stopped functioning as the search key for ChromeOS. Functionality was later restored to a certain extent, with the left “Alt” button taking on the function. The original mapping appears to have been restored upon switching the Chromebook over to the beta channel.