I’ve been an avid reader as far as I can remember.

As a primary school student in Singapore, I’ve always treated books as a retreat from the academic pressure I found myself under. My favourite haunts back then were the library in the Marine Parade district, the “Popular” bookstore above the supermarket opposite the library, and the MPH bookstore at the Parkway Parade shopping centre. When I visited America for the first time in 1996, I added the now-defunct Borders bookstore in Palo Alto to that list.

Heck, I’m even surprised that I just remembered going to my fair share of book fairs that were held at my primary school’s original campus, becoming giddy at the sight of all the secondhand books that were up for sale!

It’s safe to say that I’ve never stopped enjoying reading for pleasure. I’ve lost count of all the fanfiction stories I’ve read throughout my teen and young adult years. I’ve been inspired by Sabaton to read about notably-obscure military accounts, and I’ve read my fair share of historical novels that basically ask, “What if…”.

Even living here in Japan has prompted me to pick up the occasional light novel from time to time, albeit their official translated versions. I’m currently hooked on “Campfire Cooking in Another World with My Absurd Skill”, which is a bit of a fresh twist on the popular “Isekai” genre.

Having said that, in regards to a particular Fenrir, manga!Fel is a good doggo, while novel!Fel is an insufferable doggo.

As important as it is to stay alert to the reality around us, there’s definitely no harm in escaping into a good book once in a while. There’s nothing better than turning the page to see what will happen next.