Before I begin, please excuse the subtitle for this post.

I’m the last person to review fitness supplements, mainly because I work out mostly to stay healthy. I just had a couple of very different vegan protein powders delivered to me over the past two weeks, so I figured I should give them both a fair go at the same time.

For the record, I would like to express that I am not a vegan, but I am working on minimising the meat I consume. This means less naturally-derived creatine, but then again, I’m training mainly for my health. Looking good (while gradually getting stronger) is merely a bonus.

My main criterion when looking for a post-workout protein drink is that it should not have sucralose.

A container of protein powder with a picture of a blueberry pastry on it

A package of chocolate-flavoured protein with doodles illustrated on it

For this taste test, I will look at the “Blueberry Crumble” clean vegan protein by InnoSupps and the chocolate-flavoured organic plant protein by KOS. Both proteins were mixed with around 250ml of unsweetened almond milk. I’ve tried to stick as close to the recommended servings as possible.

The InnoSupps protein tastes like an actual blueberry crumble, right down to the taste of the pastry. I should note that this brand downplays the flavours of its products. This is to prevent you from thinking you are drinking an actual pastry. Solubility is relatively ok, but it depends on whether there are clumps in your scoop and the liquid of choice. The more clumps there are, the more likely you’ll waste tiny bits of protein if they fail to mix with the liquid.

On the other hand, the KOS protein reminds me quite a lot of the Singaporean version of Milo, albeit slightly less sweet. The slightly-higher fat content helps to bring out the richness of the chocolate flavour. The powder also dissolves much better than InnoSupps’, reducing the amount of wasted protein.

ingredients and macros list for the blueberry pastry flavoured protein

ingredients and macros list for the chocolate flavoured protein

Looking at the macronutrients, InnoSupps provides more protein per serving (80%) than KOS does (51%). KOS also has a slightly higher amount of fat compared to InnoSupps. Still, as I’ve mentioned, the fat enhances the chocolate flavour, and it is derived from coconut oil.

When deciding which to choose, it boils down to your choice and personal goals. Both proteins are pretty expensive, which is a given since sucralose is not used in either product. Since I train around five times a week, I’d rather stick with InnoSupps because I’m getting more servings (and protein) out of each container. However, for someone who’s starting out and training hard at a lower frequency, KOS is definitely worth trying. Yes, with a proper diet, the extra calories from the additional fat can still fuel your recovery process after an intense workout.

If you’re also consuming plant-based proteins after your workout, what are you taking?