The summer break has come to a close, and I find myself eagerly looking forward to seeing my students again.

Was it perfect? Definitely not. When the weather got crazy hot and humid, it really did get crazy hot and humid. We were not spared from the rain, either; a thunderstorm nearly prevented me from leaving for Nagoya.

Then, there’s discovering that there’s a severe lack of understanding here in Japan as to what is considered vegetarian or not. Even without red or white meat, if there’s fish, dashi, or meat extract in the dish, it’s NOT vegetarian.

I’m also not proud to admit that my sleeping habits did take a turn for the worse. However, if I can get my time management skills right, I’d happily do everything again.

On the plus side, I did enjoy my trip to Nagoya, my students made some excellent progress with their speech contest preparations, I made three new friends, and I was able to give my Japanese language skills a pretty good workout while helping my new friends.

Oh, and I did get some recording done too. I can’t forget that bit.

Onwards to my final second term of the Japanese academic calendar.