How did it come to this?

Just slightly over two years ago, I purchased the original Lenovo Chromebook Duet on a prophetic whim. Since then, most of my computing has been done on tablets - I use the Chromebook at work and two iPads at home.

Let us jump to September 2021. I became obsessed with turning my Chromebook into a portable desktop setup. This led to me buying a cheap wireless mechanical keyboard. Despite its flaws, I was hooked by the typing experience; I can see myself buying at least two more when I eventually move home to Australia.

As of today, we are now at the tail end of December 2022. My friend and I were out looking for potential birthday gifts for another one of our friends, and I suggested checking out the massive stationery store in the main shopping arcade.

At the elementary school where I work on Thursdays, I have a stamp system in place for my fifth- and sixth-graders. At the end of the day, I have to sign off on a lot of stamp cards - we are talking about over a hundred cards. I’ll let you imagine the relief I feel upon finishing the last card of the day.

I suspect that was what subconsciously prompted me to suggest checking out the stationery store. Deep down, I wanted to try something slightly different and experience the handwriting equivalent of using a mechanical keyboard.

I ended up buying my first fountain pen, a Pilot “LIGHTIVE”, a few days later, and after having tested it out, I can now say that I’m hooked.

No.

The way in which one letter would flow into another, thus influencing how one word would flow into the next, was so intoxicating that I had to rack my brain to think about what I wanted to write next.

It’s better to say I’m now addicted.

Thank goodness this addiction will be reasonably cheap in the long run. I simply need to remember which way to store my pencil case in my bag when travelling between my apartment and my workplaces here in Japan.

Have you become obsessed with anything throughout the year?