My band Roseburn Avenue has just released its cover version of the song “NO EXIT ORION”, originally performed by the Printemps sub-unit from the original “Love Live!” series. Feel free to watch the video down below.


Music by Hata Aki, composition and original arrangement by Yamada Ryuuhei

Cover arrangement and English lyrics by John Jin

©2015 Lantis


Our guitarist, John, had been floating the idea of participating in the 9Mermaids’ “Love Live: WorldWide” community cover event for quite some time, and this was one of the songs he had on his mind to cover. Since “NO EXIT ORION” was one of my favourite songs from the original generation, I was completely onboard with the idea.

Production was a bit of a troubled process. My mental health at the time, while thankfully not at rock-bottom, wasn’t at its best, and I had other obligations going on at the same time. As such, I originally chose to handle just the bass duties.

Unfortunately, Rita left the band for personal reasons shortly after the new year, so I decided to take over her lines with the aim of revisiting the vocalist situation towards the end of February. As you could imagine, my schedule was not exactly kind to me, and the one time I was able to record my vocals, I was battling a bit of a sore throat as well. Thankfully, most of my parts made it through (with minor processing involved), and the two lines I had to re-record turned out perfect on the second go.

We’re seriously considering doing an official release on the usual platforms, and I’m looking forward to the opportunity to re-record the bass line and my vocal parts. For the time-being, though, please enjoy my band’s cover of the song for what it is.

Interesting fact: the original version of “NO EXIT ORION” was released one day after my 27th birthday.