As you may already know, music is a part of my identity.

I’ve just started recording my bass parts for Roseburn Avenue’s latest project. So far, I have to say that I’m really enjoying working out all the technical details for the gear that I’m using. I guess part of it is because there’s a specific bass tone that I’m trying to achieve.

(If you’re curious, the tone I’m trying to achieve is inspired by three different songs. They are “Zeal of Proud” by Roselia, “Best Day” by Electric Callboy, and “In The End” by Black Veil Brides.)

Not everyone who wishes to create music will have the means to produce something that sounds professionally backed. After all, there is a reason why being a musician is seen as an expensive hobby.

I’m currently using the cloud-based BandLab as my Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) of choice. It’s surprisingly robust for a free product, and while it’s not as refined as ProTools or a fully customised REAPER, you can get a lot done with it. I was pretty impressed to see it work perfectly well on a modern low-end Android smartphone (a TeraCube 2e).

Of course, as BandLab is a cloud-based product, you’ll need a good internet connection (data or WiFi) to make the best out of it. My previous comment on not having the means to make music also stands, although I should note that the reasons for this will differ. However, even without access to a proper instrument, anyone with an interest in music can create something entirely on a budget smart device.

The world needs more music. What are you using to share the tunes in your head?